This article was originally published on The Fresh Toast and appears here with permission.

Taking the steps to make weed products kosher actually opens your product up to all sorts of dietarily-restricted individuals.

When it comes to marijuana and whether or not it should be permitted, the discussion is mainly centered on the federal government and its legalization of the substance. In actuality, there are many laws, practices and even dietary restrictions. Take the Jewish religion and its concept and practice of traditional law and kosher guidelines, for example. 

In order for a food product to get the familiar kosher label we see on all sorts of products, it must be, by Merriam-Webster’s definition, sanctioned by and ritually fit according to Jewish law. When most non-kosher individuals think of kosher, they likely know that pork, shellfish and the mix of meat and dairy are all non-kosher, but in reality kosher goes deeper than this.

Certifying food as kosher goes so far as to examine the equipment used to prepare items all the way to inspecting for possible remnants that can be found in the food items themselves. With these strict guidelines, one has to wonder if marijuana is considered kosher.

Insects Pose A Problem

Insects can cause all sorts of issues with marijuana – they can even kill a plant. One problem caused by insects that is lesser known, is that they can render marijuana non-kosher. This is because according to The Torah (Leviticus 11:42) “All the things …

Full story available on Benzinga.com